Links by Chapter

Front Matter

Mavs Open Press (https://library.uta.edu/scholcomm/mavs-open-press)

Creative Commons Licenses (https://creativecommons.org/licenses/)

Lulu.com (http://www.lulu.com/shop/matt-crosslin/creating-online-learning-experiences-a-brief-guide-to-online-courses-from-small-and-private-to-massive-and-open/paperback/product-23778310.html)

UTA Libraries’ OER (https://library.uta.edu/scholcomm/open-education/oer)

Pressbooks Accessibility Policy (https://pressbooks.org/blog/2018/05/01/our-accessibility-policy-and-forthcoming-accessibility-improvements)

Open Education at UTA (http://libguides.uta.edu/utacares)

OER Adoption Form (https://uta.qualtrics.com/jfe/form/SV_8HTkgCym5Q6Mk7j)

BCcampus Open Education Resources (https://open.bccampus.ca/)

LINK Research Lab (http://linkresearchlab.org/)

Chapter 2

Bringing out the Human in Synchronous and Asynchronous Media for Learning (https://humanmooc.pressbooks.com/chapter/bringing-out-the-human-in-synchronous-and-asynchronous-media-for-learning/)

From Instructivism to Connectivism: Theoretical Underpinnings of MOOCs” by Matt Crosslin (http://scholarworks.umb.edu/ciee/vol3/iss1/6/)

“Learning -agogy Overload” by Matt Crosslin ( http://www.edugeekjournal.com/2015/09/22/learning-agogy-overload/)

“The Difference Between Instructivism, Constructivism, and Connectivism” by Terry Heick (http://www.teachthought.com/learning/the-difference-between-instructivism-constructivism-and-connectivism/)

“Connectivism: A Learning Theory for the Digital Age” by George Siemens (http://www.itdl.org/journal/jan_05/article01.htm)

“Maker Education: Pedagogy, Andragogy, Heutagogy” by Jackie Gerstein (https://usergeneratededucation.wordpress.com/2016/06/14/maker-education-pedagogy-andragogy-heutagogy/)

“Heutagogy and Lifelong Learning: A Review of Heutagogical Practice and Self-Determined Learning” by Lisa Marie Blaschke (http://www.irrodl.org/index.php/irrodl/article/view/1076/2087)

“Rhizomatic Education: Community as Curriculum” by Dave Cormier (http://nsuworks.nova.edu/cgi/viewcontent.cgi?article=1045&context=innovate)

“A Primer on Writing Effective Learning-Centered Course Goals” by Robert K. Noyd (DFB) & The Staff of The Center for Educational Excellence (CEE) US Air Force Academy (http://www.designlearning.org/wp-content/uploads/2010/03/Writing-Good-Learning-Goals-by-Robert-Noyd-US-Air-Force-Academy.pdf)

How to Write Learning Objectives that Meet Demanding Behavioral Criteria” by Bob Kizlik (http://www.adprima.com/objectives.htm)

3 Key Characteristics of Competency Based Learning” by Deb Everhart (http://blog.blackboard.com/3-key-characteristics-of-competency-based-learning/)

What is Competency-Based Learning?” by TeachThought Staff (http://teachthought.com/learning/what-is-competency-based-learning/)

Contrast checker (http://webaim.org/resources/contrastchecker/)

MathML (https://www.w3.org/Math/)

WebAIM (https://webaim.org/)

W3C (https://www.w3.org/WAI/)

Guide on captions (http://ncam.wgbh.org/experience_learn/educational_media/stemdx/exi)

WebAIM screen reader simulation (https://webaim.org/simulations/screenreader)

Chapter 3

Quality Matters Rubric (https://www.qualitymatters.org/qa-resources/rubric-standards/higher-ed-rubric)

Online Learning Consortium (OLC) Quality Course Teaching and Instructional Practice Scorecard (https://onlinelearningconsortium.org/consult/olc-quality-course-teaching-instructional-practice/)

Canvas (https://www.instructure.com)

Blackboard (http://www.blackboard.com)

Moodle (https://moodle.org)

EdX (https://www.edx.org)

Coursera (https://www.coursera.org)

WordPress (https://wordpress.com)

WordPress as a classroom (https://wordpress.com/classrooms/)

Moodle (https://moodlecloud.com)

Reclaim Hosting (http://reclaimhosting.com)

Blackboard (https://www.coursesites.com)

Google Classroom (https://classroom.google.com)

The Handbook of Learning Analytics (https://solaresearch.org/hla-17/)

“7 Ethical Concerns With Learning Analytics” By Jim Yupangco (https://elearningindustry.com/7-ethical-concerns-with-learning-analytics)

“’Personalized Learning’ and the Power of the Gates Foundation to Shape Education Policy” by Audrey Watters (http://hackeducation.com/2017/07/18/personalization)

“Pedagogy and the Logic of Platforms” by Chris Gilliard (http://er.educause.edu/articles/2017/7/pedagogy-and-the-logic-of-platforms)

Tressie McMillan Cottom (https://tressiemc.com)

LowerEd (http://thenewpress.com/books/lower-ed)

The work of Audrey Watters (http://audreywatters.com)

Hack Education (http://hackeducation.com)

Chris Gilliard’s work (http://hypervisible.com)

Digital Redlining (http://digitalredlining.com)

Maha Bali (https://blog.mahabali.me)

Algorithms of Oppression by Safiya Umoja Noble (https://nyupress.org/books/9781479837243/)

Chapter 5

“Learning and Teaching as Communicative Actions: A Mixed-Methods Twitter Study” by Jenny S. Wakefield, Scott J. Warren, and Metta Alsobrook (http://www.kmel-journal.org/ojs/index.php/online-publication/article/viewFile/145/115)

“Learning and Teaching as Communicative Actions: Improving Historical Knowledge and Cognition Through Second Life Avatar Role Play” by Jenny S. Wakefield, Scott J. Warren, Monica A. Rankin, Leila A. Mills, and Jonathan S. Gratch (http://www.kmel-journal.org/ojs/index.php/online-publication/article/viewFile/199/151)

Theoretical Underpinnings of MOOCs” by Matt Crosslin (http://scholarworks.umb.edu/ciee/vol3/iss1/6/).

The Community of Inquiry main website (https://coi.athabascau.ca)

“Humanizing Online Learning” 2 week course by Michelle Pacansky-Brock (http://brocansky.com/humanizing-online-learning)

Humanizing Online Learning and Teaching compilation edited by Whitney Kilgore (https://humanmooc.pressbooks.com)

Zoom (https://www.zoom.us)

Skype (https://www.skype.com)

MIT’s Unhangout (https://unhangout.media.mit.edu/about/)

YouTube Live (https://www.youtube.com/my_live_events)

“What’s the Problem with Grades?” by Alfie Kohn (http://blogs.ibo.org/blog/2017/05/11/whats-the-problem-with-grades/)

“Why I Don’t Grade” by Jesse Stommel (http://www.jessestommel.com/why-i-dont-grade/)

“12 Alternatives To Letter Grades In Education” by Terry Heick (https://www.teachthought.com/pedagogy/12-alternatives-to-letter-grades-in-education/)

“Ungrading My Class – Reflections on a Second Iteration” by Maha Bali (https://www.chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/ungrading-my-class-reflections-on-a-second-iteration/65235)

Chapter 6

“Toward Renewable Assessments” by David Wiley (https://opencontent.org/blog/archives/4691)

“Opting for Renewable Assessments” by Jason B. Jones (https://www.chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/opting-for-renewable-assessments/62523)

“Renewable Assignments: Student Work Adding Value to the World” by Christina Hendricks (http://flexible.learning.ubc.ca/news-events/renewable-assignments-student-work-adding-value-to-the-world/)

Jim Groom’s ds106 (Digital Storytelling) course at the University of Mary Washington (UMW): assignment bank (http://assignments.ds106.us)

From Instructivism to Connectivism: Theoretical Underpinnings of MOOCs (http://scholarworks.umb.edu/ciee/vol3/iss1/6/)

Chapter 7

micro podcasts from Dr. Peggy Semingson on the audio platform SoundCloud (https://soundcloud.com/peggy-semingson)

SoundCloud (https://soundcloud.com)

Audioboom (https://audioboom.com)

Mixcloud (https://www.mixcloud.com/)

Find OER (https://open4us.org/find-oer/)

Chapter 8

List of OER definitions (https://wiki.creativecommons.org/wiki/What_is_OER%3F)

5R Open Course Design Framework by Lumen Learning (http://lumenlearning.com/about/whats-oer/)

Example of the differences with in the United States about copyright status of government documents (http://copyright.lib.harvard.edu/states/)

Creative Commons (CC) license (https://creativecommons.org/licenses/)

CC License Chooser help page (https://creativecommons.org/choose/)

OER Commons (https://www.oercommons.org/)

list of other resource options with an educational or multi-media focus (http://libguides.brooklyn.cuny.edu/research/oer/createoer)

Chapter 9

“Shaming and Framing: Imagining Students at an Education Conference” by Chris Gilliard (http://hypervisible.com/post/shaming-and-framing-imagining-students-at-an-education-conference/)

Credly: free service for up to 500 badges: https://credly.com

OpenBadges: widely accepted open credentialing system: https://openbadges.org

Issuing OpenBadges: https://openbadges.org/get-started/issuing-badges/

Badgr: free, open-source credentialing system: https://info.badgr.io

Chapter 10

“How to Create an SRT File” by Andrew Meer (http://www.ehow.com/how_6901846_create-srt-file.html)

“How to Write an Awesome Video Script in 8 Steps” by Jake Kilroy (https://www.columnfivemedia.com/how-to-write-a-video-script-like-video-agency)

Chapter 11

Official FERPA Recap (https://www2.ed.gov/policy/gen/guid/fpco/ferpa/index.html)

Example of FERPA at a Glance for Faculty from one college (http://www.emich.edu/registrar/registration_info/FERPA/Faculty%20FERPA.pdf)

“15 Social Networking Safety Tips from Norton Security” by Emma Kavanagh (http://www.nortonsecurityonline.com/security-center/15-social-networking-safety-tips.html)

“5 Do’s and Don’ts for College Students Using Social Media” by Jeff Greer (https://www.usnews.com/education/articles/2010/05/12/5-dos-and-donts-for-college-students-using-social-media)

Hootsuite (https://hootsuite.com)

Known (https://withknown.com)

Slack (https://slack.com)

“Should You Podcast Under Your Real Name, or a Pseudonym?” by Daniel J. Lewis (https://theaudacitytopodcast.com/should-you-blog-podcast-youtube-under-your-real-name-or-a-pseudonym-tap183/)

What are the Best Alternatives to Facebook? (https://www.1and1.com/digitalguide/online-marketing/social-media/the-best-facebook-alternatives/)

Mastodon (https://mastodon.social/about)

Personal Learning Network (PLN) (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Personal_learning_network).

Connectivism (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Connectivism)

Sample Connectivist MOOC Handbook (http://ds106.us/handbook/)

“Creating a Course Hub” by Alan Levine (http://cogdogblog.com/2014/07/14/feed-wordpress-101/)

Cultural Awareness Online Continuing Education Course (http://www.culture-advantage.com/awarenesspage1.html)

Analysis into the Bystander Effect – “Social Media: The Modern Stage for the Bystander Effect?” (http://ron-sheese.wikidot.com/tutorial-6-2)

the wisdom of the crowds – “The Madness of the Crowds” by Tim Hwang (https://logicmag.io/01-the-madness-of-the-crowd/)

“Codes of Conduct 101 + FAQ” by Ashe Dryden (https://www.ashedryden.com/blog/codes-of-conduct-101-faq)

“MOOCs and Codes of Conduct” by Matt Crosslin (http://www.edugeekjournal.com/2014/10/24/moocs-and-codes-of-conduct/)

Example MOOC Code of Conduct (https://linkresearchlab.org/dalmooc/policies/)

Chapter 12

Transforming Business, Society, and Self with U.Lab. (https://www.edx.org/course/u-lab-leading-emerging-future-mitx-15-671-1x-0#!)

Coaching circles(https://www.youtube.com/watch?time_continue=19&v=dJTrLUgI-qE)

coaching circles livestream (https://livestream.com)

Mindfulness-Based Stress Reduction developed by Jon Kabat-Zinn (https://www.umassmed.edu/cfm/mindfulness-based-programs/)

Mindful Tech by David M. Levy (http://www.davidmlevy.net/mindful-tech/)

Contemplative Practices in Higher Education by Daniel Barbezat and Mirabai Bush (http://www.contemplativemind.org/book)

Stop, Breathe, and Think (https://www.stopbreathethink.com/)

Chapter 13

“Designing a Dual Layer cMOOC/xMOOC” by Matt Crosslin (http://www.edugeekjournal.com/2014/05/04/designing-a-dual-layer-cmoocxmooc/)

“Digging Into What “Choice” is in Customizable Modality/Dual-Layer” by Matt Crosslin (http://www.edugeekjournal.com/2015/10/01/digging-into-what-choice-is-in-customizable-modalitydual-layer/)

“Every Choice is Awesome. Every Path is Cool When You’re in #HumanMOOC” by Matt Crosslin (http://www.edugeekjournal.com/2015/12/28/every-choice-is-awesome-every-path-is-cool-when-youre-in-humanmooc/)

“Documenting Customizable Pathways” by Leigh A. Hall (http://teachingacademia.com/index.php/2017/04/10/documenting-customizable-pathways/)

“Dual Pathways in Online Learning” by Leigh A. Hall (http://teachingacademia.com/index.php/2017/04/03/dual-pathways-in-online-learning/)

“The Messiness of Online Teaching” by Leigh A. Hall (http://teachingacademia.com/index.php/2017/07/17/the-messiness-of-online-teaching/)

“Bridging Learners From Instructivism to Connectivism” by Matt Crosslin (http://www.edugeekjournal.com/2014/07/11/bridging-learners-from-instructivism-to-connectivism/)

Example of interactive map of options in one MOOC (http://mattcrosslin.com/humanmooc/syllabus/tools/)

“Visual Flow of Learner Tools in the Dual Layer MOOC” by Matt Crosslin (http://www.edugeekjournal.com/2014/09/26/visual-flow-of-learner-tools-in-the-dual-layer-mooc/)

“Creating a Self-Mapped Learning Pathway” by Matt Crosslin (http://www.edugeekjournal.com/2017/03/28/creating-a-self-mapped-learning-pathway/)

“4 Ways To Bring Gamification of Education To Your Classroom” by Suzanne Holloway (https://tophat.com/blog/gamification-education-class/)

“Gamification in Education” by Vicki Davis (https://www.edutopia.org/blog/gamification-in-education-vicki-davis)

Gamification of Learning (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gamification_of_learning)

“The Difference between Gamification and Game-Based Learning” by Steven Isaacs (http://inservice.ascd.org/the-difference-between-gamification-and-game-based-learning/)

“Game-Based Learning: What it is, Why it Works, and Where it’s Going” by Jessica Trybus (http://bit.ly/game-based-learning-trybus)

Educational Game (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Educational_game)

Virtual Reality for Education (https://virtualrealityforeducation.com/)

“Real Uses of Virtual Reality in Education: How Schools are Using VR” by Kelly Walsh (http://www.emergingedtech.com/2017/06/real-uses-of-virtual-reality-in-education-how-schools-are-using-vr/)

“Virtual Reality And Augmented Reality In Education” by Leticia Lafuente López (https://elearningindustry.com/virtual-reality-augmented-reality-education)

“Augmented Reality Brings New Dimensions to Learning” by Todd Nesloney (https://www.edutopia.org/blog/augmented-reality-new-dimensions-learning-drew-minock)

eleVR (http://elevr.com/)

Twine (https://twinery.org/)

eXperience Play (https://experienceplay.education/)

M-Learning (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/M-learning)

12 Principles of Mobile Learning (http://www.teachthought.com/learning/12-principles-of-mobile-learning/)

“The Ultimate Teacher’s Guide To Creating Educational Apps” by Jeff Dunn (http://www.edudemic.com/the-ultimate-guide-to-creating-educational-apps/)

“5 Simple Tools For Teachers To Create And Publish Apps Of Their Own” (http://www.teachthought.com/technology/5-tools-teachers-create-publish-apps/)

“Rhizomatic Education: Community as Curriculum” by Dave Cormier (http://davecormier.com/edblog/2008/06/03/rhizomatic-education-community-as-curriculum/)

“Rhizomatic Learning” (https://www.heacademy.ac.uk/enhancement/starter-tools/rhizomatic-learning)

“A Practical Guide to Rhizo15” by Dave Cormier (http://davecormier.com/edblog/2015/04/10/a-practical-guide-to-rhizo15/)

“What is it Like to Learn and Participate in Rhizomatic MOOCs? A Collaborative Autoethnography of #RHIZO14” by Maha Bali, Sarah Honeychurch, Keith Hamon, Rebecca J. Hogue, Apostolos Koutropoulos, Scott Johnson, Ronald Leunissen, & Lenandlar Singh (http://scholarworks.umb.edu/ciee/vol3/iss1/4)

“How the Community Became More Than the Curriculum: Participant Experiences In #RHIZO14” by Sarah Honeychurch, Bonnie Stewart, Maha Bali, Rebecca J. Hogue, & Dave Cormier (http://scholarworks.umb.edu/ciee/vol3/iss1/3)

 

License

Icon for the Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License

Links by Chapter by Matt Crosslin is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License, except where otherwise noted.

Share This Book